cosymakes studio

name: Cosette Cornelius-Bates
business name: CosyKnits (literally) aka cosymakes
website(s): cosymakes and the shop

What kind of items do you make?
I dye 6 lines of semi-solid wool and wool/mohair yarns, hand dyed falkland top for spinners, and I write patterns. I also have a book – Knit One, Embellish Too.

How long have you been in indie artist?
I started making art hats 6 years ago! And shortly thereafter started an etsy shop and a blog about my thesis. It has morphed into what I do now.

What got you interested in your art of choice?
I started knitting after college. When I moved to go to graduate school, the yarn shop near my house offered spinning and dyeing lessons. It went downhill (or uphill) from there. I have an undergraduate degree in art, so color, texture, history and so many things make knitting, spinning, dyeing and designing pleasing and deep to me.

What is something you strive to offer the fiber arts community?
Besides offering the things I make up and dye up, I am also attempting to offer a space for more community – both through cosymakes studio and through Indie Knit and Spin.

Does being an indie fiber artist affect other aspects of your life?
Right now it means I can work around my husband’s schedule and my baby’s schedule and still keep my business even thought I’m no longer doing it full time. In short, it’s an awesome job for me as a young mama.

What is your fiber arts superpower?
I wind balls by hand at the speed of light.
I encourage and empower others to do fiber arts.
I have never failed at teaching someone to knit. We’ll see how long that lasts ;)

Leave a Reply

