Klotho Handspun

Artist: Lauren R. Heller

sunshine handspun

What kind of items do you make?

I hand-dye wool top and handspin yarn. I make buttons, handknit hats and accessories, and unique fiber/textile jewelery. All of my items are handmade and one of a kind.

How long have you been in indie artist?

‘Artist’ is such an integral part of my self-identity; I can’t remember a time I ever did not consider myself an artist. I’ve only considered it a business since college, but I couldn’t pinpoint a particular date.

whirlpool

What got you interested in your art of choice?

I collect techniques and media like a bad happy. I’ve never met a type of art or craft I didn’t like.

What do you most enjoy about what you do?

I love the creative process: the physical, tangible experience of working with my hands to make things, and seeing the work emerge and evolve right at my fingertips. I rarely begin a project with an exact plan for the finished product.

tiger

What most inspires you?

I draw inspiration from the colors, shapes, and textures in nature, and from the history and tradition of art and craft.

Catalina Macaw hand-dyed handspun

1 thought on “Klotho Handspun

  1. Pingback: Indie Knit & Spin, a Pittsburgh Yarn and Fiber Artists’ Marketplace

Leave a comment